4: Jessica

I keep every card that I’ve ever gotten. They’re hidden in boxes under my guest bed. So, you know, if you ever happen to stay in the guest room one night and can’t sleep, go ahead and use them for some reading material. And as you’re reading the heart-felt sentiments from my old birthday cards, you may notice that some of them are addressed to a person called “Mini-Me.”

Yeah.

That’s me.

Jessica, of course, is the only person who addresses me as such. This is 90% because for the first four years that I knew her, we both decided that I was strikingly similar in personality to her, just a year younger. (Of course, that’s because I was trying to be more like her because I was so impressed with her.)

The other 10% is because my nickname from my grandmother is “EE.” If you don’t get that reference, rewatch the Austin Powers trilogy.

Thank me later.

Back on topic, Jessica and I have been friends for a long time. An embarrassingly long time. Maybe not as long as Rachel, but still pretty long. And it’s embarrassing, because as I alluded to earlier, I totally idolized her at the beginning of our friendship.

Now, it’s not that Jessica doesn’t deserve the admiration, she totally does. But it makes for an unequal and occasionally awkward friendship as we grow up, yes? Here’s what’s cool, though – the friendship has totally turned into something legit.

And as much as I’d like to take credit for it, I can’t. In case you haven’t known me long enough or well enough to notice, I royally screw things up when left to my own devices. And trust me, I tried my best to screw up our friendship, more than once.

But Jessica is nothing if not fiercely loyal and dedicated to her friends. So, when I messed up, she always helped me clean up the spilled milk. And she put my head back on straight to help see me through my greatest challenges. This includes but is not limited to:

  • dealing with my adolescent troubles
  • figuring out where to go to college
  • passing 3B English my sophomore year
  • simply graduating high school alive
  • going to college out of state (a lot of late-night phone calls there)
  • celebrating my 21st birthday
  • becoming a teacher

I owe her times a billion for all of those things and more, which include introducing me to her fabulous now-hubs, who definitely is one of my closest guy friends. In fact, being in their wedding? Definitely the highlight of 2010 for me.

I’m incredibly lucky to have this girl in my life, because even when I’m having a hell of a night, she can make me smile. And that’s what friendship is all about. 🙂

Leave a comment